Students, staff recognized at March 14 board meeting
Students, staff recognized at March 14 board meeting
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Read about the students and staff who were recognized at the March 14 Board of Education meeting.

SSD Rosemary Zander Award
Cameron Brown, a kindergartner at Drummond Elementary School, was selected as a recipient of the Special School District's (SSD) Rosemary Zander Award. The award recognizes success of students who receive services from SSD in areas including academics, arts, athletics, employment and community service. Holly Thomas, an SSD teacher who serves as Brown's speech pathologist at Drummond, nominated her student, saying, "Despite Cameron's limitations and young age, he has inspired staff and students with his academic achievements, his ability to adapt, his attitude, his work ethic, his sense of humor and his fierce determination. He is always striving to do his best and never gives up. He is genuinely happy to be at school every single day and is a leader in his classroom."


National Coca-Cola Scholar
Pattonville senior Keturah Gadson is one of only 150 students nationwide selected to be named a 2016-2017 Coca-Cola Scholar, an honor which includes a $20,000 scholarship. Only three students in Missouri earned this recognition. Prior to being named a scholar, Gadson was one of 250 students who advanced to the regional finalist status out of 86,000 applications. Coca-Cola Scholars is an achievement-based scholarship program. Students are recognized for their capacity to lead and serve, as well as their commitment to making a significant impact on their schools and communities. In April, Gadson will join other Coca-Cola Scholars as they travel to Atlanta, the international headquarters of The Coca-Cola Company, for Scholars Weekend. During this four-day weekend, the scholars will participate in a Leadership Development Institute to further develop their leadership skills, tour local landmarks, engage with former Coca-Cola Scholars and participate in a group community service project.

National Merit Finalist
Pattonville senior Mitchell Skaggs has been named a finalist in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship competition. Approximately 15,000 students nationwide advanced to finalist standing in the competition. Skaggs is among the Top 1 percent highest scorers in the nation on the National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.


U.S. Presidential Scholars candidate
Pattonville High School senior Micah Thompkins was selected as a candidate for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. The program was established in 1964 by executive order of the president to recognize some of the nation's most distinguished graduating seniors in the areas of academics, leadership and service to school and community. Scholars are announced in May and are invited to Washington, D.C., to attend the program's national recognition in June.

Outstanding Beginning Teacher Awards
Aaryn Edge, a sixth-grade teacher, and Taylor Koening, a second-grade teacher, were recognized with an Outstanding Beginning Teacher award by the Missouri Association of Colleges for Teacher Education. Both are teachers at Remington Traditional School. The award is only given every two years to two educators from every college and university in Missouri. Each college nominates individuals for the award, which includes a recommendation from the teacher's building principal. The award recognizes outstanding teachers for their excellence in serving children during their first two years of service in school districts across Missouri. Edge received the award from Lindenwood University and Koenig received the award from Maryville University. They will attend a luncheon with the Missouri commissioner of education to recognize this accomplishment.


National endorsement
Jennifer Raymond, the speech and debate coach at Pattonville High School, was presented with the Speech and Debate Educator Endorsement Award. Part of the National Speech and Debate Association's professional accreditation program, the endorsement recognizes coaches and educators who are committed to furthering their education skills to better meet the needs of their students.